

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229

e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us (925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

## **MEMBERS**

Donald A. Blubaugh
Public Member
Federal Glover
County Member
Michael R. McGill

Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho
County Member
Rob Schroder
City Member
Igor Skaredoff
Special District Member

Don Tatzin City Member

## ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Candace Andersen
County Member
Sharon Burke
Public Member
Tom Butt
City Member
George H. Schmidt
Special District Member

December 10, 2014 Agenda Item 7

December 10, 2014 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

## **Commissioner Terms**

Dear Members of the Commission:

This is an update regarding Commissioner appointments and the process for filling vacancies.

The authority and procedures for appointing members of the Commission are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH Act). All terms of office on LAFCO are four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless otherwise specified.

In May 2015, the terms of two Commissioners will expire: City members Tom Butt and Rob Schroder.

The selection process for the City members is summarized below:

City Members – Per the CKH and Commission policies, City members are selected by the City Selection Committee. The City appointments generally occur in March or April. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the Executive Director of the Contra Costa County Mayors' Conference and report back to the Commission following the appointment.

**RECOMMENDATION - Receive report.** 

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER